Applied Health Science

Faculty by area:

Faculty MemberContactResearch Areas

Erin Ables

Research Associate

eables@indiana.edu
(812) 855-7194
501 N. Morton St., Suite 110

  • Substance abuse prevention
  • Data analysis
  • Research methodology
  • Survey design

Daniel L. Agley

Research Associate

dagley@indiana.edu
(812) 855-9221
501 N. Morton St., Suite 110

  • Health promotion
  • Sleep deprivation as risk factor & college health promotion
  • Program planning & evaluation
  • Quantitative statistics

Jon Agley

Assistant Research Scientist

jagley@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3123
501 N. Morton St., Suite 110

  • Adolescent drug prevention initiatives
  • SBIRT (screen, brief intervention, and referral to treatment)
  • Health behavior theory/health policy
  • Philosophy of public health and health behaviors

Randi "Jeanie" Alter

Research Associate

rjalter@indiana.edu
(812) 855-4896
501 N. Morton St., Suite 110

  • Program evaluation
  • Substance abuse prevention
  • Community health

Kathleen Anderson

Research Associate

kathleen@indiana.edu
(812) 856-9701
110 Morton, Suite 110

Trent Applegate

Senior Lecturer/Emergency Care Program Coordinator

tapplega@indiana.edu
(812) 856-4009
PH 026

  • CPR retention
  • Automated External Defibrillation (AED)
  • School health

Priscilla Barnes

Assistant Professor

prbarnes@indiana.edu
(812) 855-4789
PH C019

  • Public health systems
  • Health disparities
  • Public organizations
  • Private organizations

Jonathon Beckmeyer

Assistant Professor

jbeckmey@indiana.edu
(812) 856-4220
PH 144

  • Adolescent and young adult health
  • Substance use
  • Romantic experiences
  • Family systems
  • Family health

LaDonna BlueEye

Assistant Professor

lblueeye@indiana.edu
(812) 856-4343
Applied Health Science Annex, room 101

  • Tobacco
  • Native American
  • Diabetes
  • Qualitative
  • Community health

Alfred Capuano

Visiting Lecturer

acapuano@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3627
PH 116

  • Health disparities
  • Health inequalities
  • Health equities
  • Community partnerships

Angela Chow

Assistant Professor

chowa@indiana.edu
(812) 856-2986
PH 138

Erin Cooperman

Executive Director, Office of Global and Community Health Partnerships

cooperme@indiana.edu
(812) 856-0064
Sycamore Hall 141

  • Law
  • Health
  • Policy
  • Service
  • Internship
  • AmeriCorps.

Mallori DeSalle

Indiana SBIRT Outreach Coordinator, Research Associate

mdesalle@indiana.edu
(812) 855-5735
IU Research Park, Suite 110

  • Screening, Brief Intervention, Referral to Treatment (SBIRT) in primary care
  • Use of motivational Interviewing in healthcare
  • Dissemination of evidence-based strategies

Brian Dodge

Associate Professor

bmdodge@indiana.edu
(812) 856-0792
Sycamore Hall 243

  • Sexual health
  • Bisexuality
  • Sexually transmitted infections (STI)
  • HIV/AIDS
  • Condoms

Nancy T. Ellis

Associate Professor

ellisn@indiana.edu
(812) 855-9441
PH 134

  • Women's and adolescent's health risk behaviors
  • School and community health interventions
  • Faith based research related to health risk behaviors

Kathy Lyn Finley

Academic Specialist

kfinley@indiana.edu
(812) 855-0854
801 E. 7th Street, Room 202

  • Cardiovascular health
  • Pulmonary health
  • Addiction and drug abuse
  • Exercise
  • Nutrition

Alyce D. Fly

Associate Professor

afly@indiana.edu
(812) 855-7975
PH 005

  • School interventions
  • Obesity
  • Diet and peripheral vascular health
  • Breastfeeding
  • Obesity
  • Diet and peripheral vascular health

Gina Forrest

Visiting Lecturer

gforrest@indiana.edu
(812) 855-7212
801 E. 7th Street, Room 201, SPH Health Annex

  • Health disparities
  • Health inequalities
  • Health equities
  • Community partnerships

Ruth Gassman

Executive Director, IPRC

rgassman@indiana.edu
(812) 855-1237
501 N. Morton St., Suite 110

  • Alcohol abuse
  • Drug abuse
  • Health services

Victoria M. Getty

Senior Lecturer

vgetty@indiana.edu
(812) 855-1531
Woodlawn House Building, Room 201

  • Nutrition education

Deb Getz

Clincial Assistant Professor

dgetz@indiana.edu
(812) 855-9072
801 East 7th Street

  • Leadership development
  • Curriculum design
  • Diversity education

Asghar Gharakhani

Community Relation Specialist

aghara@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3156
SY 144

  • Leadership development
  • Cultural diversity

Virginia T. Githiri

Lecturer

vgithiri@indiana.edu
(812) 855-5210
309 N. Woodlawn Avenue

  • Physical activity and weight-loss maintenance
  • African American women and physical activity
  • Women and sport
  • Faith-based physical activity
  • Sport and future physical activity

Robert M. Goodman

Professor and Former Dean

rmg@indiana.edu
(812) 856-7336
EG 221

  • Behavioral sciences
  • Health promotion and education advocacy

Lucia Guerra-Reyes

Assistant Professor

luguerra@indiana.edu
(812) 856-7663
809 East 9th Street Office 103

  • Reproductive health
  • Reproductive policy
  • Latin America
  • Health disparities
  • Indigenous groups
  • Cultural competency

Michael Shawn Hendryx

Professor

hendryx@indiana.edu
(812) 856-8875
809 E 9th St, Room 202

  • Health disparities
  • Appalachia
  • Environmental Health

Debra Herbenick

Associate Professor

debby@indiana.edu
(812) 855-7011

  • Women's sexual health
  • Sexual enhancement products
  • Sexual pleasure
  • Condom use
  • Male and female sexual function

Cheryl L. Holmes

Adjunct Faculty

clholmes@indiana.edu
(812) 855-4019
Poplars Building, 621

  • Safety
  • Health

Shayla Holtkamp

Adjunct Lecturer

sholtkam@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3818
PH 116

Lesa Huber

Clinical Associate Professor

lehuber@indiana.edu
(812) 855-1733
Smith Research Center, Room 197

  • Technology
  • Aging
  • Aging in place
  • Privacy

Aaron Jones

Research Associate/Operations Coordinator

aadjones@indiana.edu
(812) 855-8263
IU Research Park, Suite 110

  • Community health education
  • Alcohol and tobacco control

Mikyoung Jun

Research Associate and ATOD Survey Coordinator

mkjun@indiana.edu
(812) 855-1237
IU Research Park, Suite 110

  • Substance abuse prevention
  • Survey research methods

Noy S. Kay

Clinical Professor

noyskay@indiana.edu
(812) 855-2156
PH 116

  • Health promotion
  • Lifestyles education
  • International health study
  • Death education

Rosemary King

Research Associate/Evaluation and Grants Specialist

rosking@indiana.edu
(812) 855-9150
501 N. Morton St., Suite 110

  • Substance abuse prevention
  • Community organizing
  • Community-level prevention approaches
  • Substance use among college students

Carrie Lawrence

Visiting Assistant Scientist

calawren@indiana.edu
(800) 566-8644
Rural Center for AIDS/STD Prevention

Hsien-Chang Lin

Assistant Professor

linhsi@indiana.edu
(812) 855-6197
809 E. 9th St., Room 106

  • Health economics and policy
  • Health services research
  • Pharmaceutical economics
  • Substance abuse
  • Pharmacoeconomics
  • Outcomes research
  • Pharmacoepidemiology

Alice Lindeman

Associate Professor

lindema@indiana.edu
(812) 855-6437
PH 294A

  • Health care and wellness
  • Preventive health care
  • mMinerals
  • Vitamins and nutrients
  • Nutrition
  • Sports

David K. Lohrmann

Professor and Chair, Applied Health Science

dlohrman@indiana.edu
(812) 856-5101
PH 116

  • School health promotion
  • Health education
  • Alcohol
  • Tobacco
  • Drug abuse prevention
  • Sexuality education
  • HIV/STD prevention

Jon Macy

Associate Professor

jtmacy@indiana.edu
(812) 856-0704
PH 116

  • Health policy
  • Tobacco control
  • Smoking cessation
  • Tobacco prevention
  • Program evaluation

Laura McCloskey

Professor

lmcclosk@indiana.edu
(812) 855-4980
Sycamore 237

  • Violence against women
  • Child abuse
  • Disparities in mental health
  • Adolescent socio-sexual health
  • Families and health

Beth Meyerson

Associate Professor

bmeyerso@indiana.edu
(812) 855-0585 TWITTER: @Beth_Meyerson
PH 116

  • Health policy
  • HIV
  • Sexually transmitted disease or STD
  • Social construction of health
  • Ethnography
  • Community participatory research
  • Public health leadership

Susan E. Middlestadt

Professor and Director of Graduate Education

semiddle@indiana.edu
(812) 856-2767
Sycamore Hall 239

  • Theory
  • Intervention design
  • Behavior change
  • Reasoned action approach

Maresa J. Murray

Clinical Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Education

marjmurr@indiana.edu
(812) 856-5213
PH 146

  • Family health
  • Ethnic minority families
  • Media influence on families
  • Religiosity
  • Social support

Carole E. Nowicke

Reference Librarian/Research Associate

cnowicke@indiana.edu
(812) 855-1237
IU Research Park, Suite 110

  • Applied health Science
  • Oral history
  • Archives and manuscripts
  • 19th century American music and culture
  • The tuba
  • Dressage
  • Combined driving (carriage)

Cecilia S. Obeng

Associate Professor

cobeng@indiana.edu
(812) 856-0502
PH 296-I

  • Breastfeeding and child health
  • Pre-school children's health
  • The role of the family in the development of the child
  • Immigrant families' health
  • Culture and health

Courtney Owyn Olcott

Research Associate

coolcott@indiana.edu
(812) 856-7528
501 N. Morton St., Suite 110

  • Program development, management, and evaluation
  • Substance abuse prevention
  • Adolescent mental health
  • Feminist scholarship

Alexander Purcell

Workforce Development, Office of Global and Community Health Partnerships

aspurcel@indiana.edu
(812) 855-7334
Sycamore Hall 143

  • Workforce development
  • Capacity building
  • Partnership development
  • Needs assessments
  • Strategic planning

Shahla Ray

Senior Lecturer

sharay@indiana.edu
(812) 855-0843
PH 296H

  • Obesity prevention and treatment
  • Overweight and obesity education
  • Childhood obesity
  • Nutrition science
  • School health, nutrition and physical activity
  • Culture, nutrition and health
  • Immigrant families’ dietary habits and health
  • Biochemical adaptations to exercise

Michael Reece

Professor and Associate Dean

mireece@indiana.edu
(812) 855-0068
PH 113

  • Sexual health promotion
  • HIV-related mental health care

Kaitlyn Reho

Research Associate

kreho@indiana.edu
(812) 856-9771
501 N. Morton St., Suite 110

  • Screening, Brief Intervention, and Referral to Treatment (SBIRT)
  • Substance abuse prevention
  • Behavioral, social, and community health

Desiree D. Reynolds

Research Associate

desiree@indiana.edu
(812) 855-1237
IU Research Park, Suite 110

  • Tobacco retailer inspection program
  • Youth access to tobacco

Katharine Sadler

Community Prevention Specialist

kbrownsa@indiana.edu
(812) 855-1237
IU Research Park, Suite 110

  • Substance abuse prevention
  • Youth substance abuse

Maria K. Schmidt

Adjunct Assistant Professor

marschmi@indiana.edu
(812) 855-9892
PH 029

  • Child development
  • Teaching models

Dong-Chul Seo

Professor

seo@indiana.edu
(812) 855-9379
PH 028

  • Obesity
  • Tobacco
  • Alcohol
  • Measurement
  • Evaluation

Catherine Sherwood-Laughlin

Clinical Professor and Assistant Chairperson, Applied Health Science



PH 116

  • Sexual health education
  • Cancer prevention
  • Cancer education
  • Program planning

Kevin J. Slates

Clinical Associate Professor

kslates@indiana.edu
(812) 856-3766
PH 116D

  • Unintentional injury prevention
  • Biological occupational and environmental hazards
  • Industrial hygiene
  • Ergonomics

Todd Smith

Assistant Professor

smithtod@indiana.edu
(812) 856-4887
PH 116

  • Occupational safety and health
  • Safety culture/climate
  • Injury prevention and control
  • Ergonomics & human factors
  • Occupational health psychology
  • Workplace health promotion
  • Firefighter safety and health

Cynthia Somers-Griffin

Visiting Research Associate

cysomers@iu.edu
(812) 856-4426
IU Research Park, Suite 109

Krisha Thiagarajah

Senior Lecturer

kthiagar@indiana.edu
(812) 856-5231
PH 116J

  • Nutrition

Walter Archie Tinsley

EMT-Basic Course Coordinator

wtinsley@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3627
PH 116

  • CPR
  • EMT
  • First responder
  • First aid
  • AED

Mohammad R. Torabi

Chancellor's Professor and Dean

torabi@indiana.edu
(812) 855-1250
PH 111

  • Public health education
  • Prevention
  • Drug abuse
  • HIV/AIDS

James Wolf

Research Associate

jamwolf@indiana.edu
(812) 855-1237
501 N. Morton St., Suite 111

  • Tobacco retailer compliance programs
  • Public policy research
  • Survey research methods

William L. Yarber

Professor

yarber@indiana.edu
(812) 855-7974
PH 142

  • AIDS/HIV
  • Sex
  • Human sexuality
  • Sexually transmitted disease

Steven Randolph Zaffuto

Evaluation Specialist/Research Associate

szaffuto@indiana.edu
(812) 855-6307
IU Research Park, Suite 110

  • Substance abuse prevention
  • Youth smoking prevention