Environmental and Occupational Health

Faculty by area:

Faculty MemberContactResearch Areas

Rodrigo X. Armijos

Associate Professor

rarmijos@indiana.edu
Office: (812) 856-4731 Lab: 812 855 6407
PH C025D

  • Air pollutant exposure, systemic inflammation and child cardiovascular health
  • Occupational health of agricultural workers
  • Prevention and control of TB and vector-borne parasitic diseases of public health importance
  • Global health

Alan W. Ewert

Professor

aewert@indiana.edu
(812) 855-8116
PH 029 & PH 133A

  • Outdoor adventure
  • Resilience
  • Military veterans
  • Risk motivation
  • Natural environments

Shawn Gibbs

Professor, Executive Associate Dean for Academic Affairs & Interim Associate Dean of Research

gibbss@indiana.edu
(812) 855-1090
PH 111C

  • Antibiotic resistance
  • Bioaerosols
  • Biocontainment
  • Ebola Virus Disease
  • Highly infectious disease management
  • Industrial hygiene
  • Personal protective equipment

Barbara Hocevar

Associate Professor

bhocevar@indiana.edu
(812) 856-2481
PH 029

  • Pharmacology and toxicology
  • Cell biology

Lisa Kamendulis

Associate Professor

lkamendu@indiana.edu
(812) 855-8861
PH 029

  • Environmental toxicology

Khalid M. Khan

Assistant Professor

kmkhan@indiana.edu
(812) 856-2229
PH 025E

  • Neurobehavioral effects
  • Agricultural and rural health
  • Pesticides
  • Water pollution
  • Environmental epidemiology
  • Educational intervention

James Klaunig

Professor

jklauni@indiana.edu
(812) 856 3957
IU Innovation Center, Room 256

  • Toxicology
  • Carcinogenesis
  • Risk assessment
  • Dose response
  • Cancer biology
  • Pesticide toxicity and human risk
  • Nuclear receptor mediated toxicity

Aurora Le

Academic Specialist

able@indiana.edu
(812) 855-4756
PH 011A

  • Biosafety and worker training
  • Highly infectious disease management
  • Infectious diseases of public health significance

Kan Shao

Assistant Professor

kshao@indiana.edu
(812) 856-2725
PH 029

  • Health risk assessment
  • Dose-response analysis
  • Environmental modeling
  • Environmental policy
  • Biostatistics

Joanna Shimek

Clinical Faculty

jmshimek@indiana.edu
(812) 856-2448
PH 029

Zemin Wang

Research Scientist

zemwang@indiana.edu
(812) 855-0351
IU Innovation Center, Room 254

  • Environmental toxicology
  • Chemical carcinogenesis
  • Nonalcoholic fatty liver disease
  • Cancer biology
  • Human health risk asessment

Margaret Weigel

Professor and Interim Chair, Environmental and Occupational Health

weigelm@iu.edu
(812) 856-4930
PH 029A

  • Environmental and occupational epidemiology
  • Global environmental health
  • Household food insecurity: impact on diet, nutrition, health, and development
  • Air pollution and cardiorespiratory health of women and children
  • Infectious disease epidemiology, prevention, and control especially TB, leishmaniasis and intestinal infections

Joel A. Ybe

Senior Research Scientist

jybe@indiana.edu
(812) 856-4882
501 N. Morton St., Suite 104 (IRAB)

  • Clathrin
  • Protein and membrane trafficking
  • Cancer
  • HIP1
  • Huntington's Disease
  • Neurodegeneration
  • X-ray crystallography
  • Biochemistry and cell biology