Kinesiology

Faculty by area:

Faculty MemberContactResearch Areas

Charles Dean Beeker

Clinical Associate Professor & Director, Center of Underwater Science

cbeeker@indiana.edu
(812) 855-5748

  • Underwater archaeology
  • Shipwrecks as marine protected areas
  • Protection of underwater culrural and associated biological resource
  • Scientific diver training

Hannah J. Block

Assistant Professor

hjblock@indiana.edu
(812) 855-5390
PH 176

  • Motor control
  • Sensorimotor learning
  • Multisensory processing
  • Neurophysiology
  • Brain stimulation

Kevin K. Byon

Associate Professor

kbyon@indiana.edu
(812) 856-1966
PH 112D

  • Sport marketing
  • Sport service marketing
  • Sport consumer behavior
  • Sport tourism
  • Measurement

Keith G. Chapin

Clinical Associate Professor

gchapin@indiana.edu
(812) 855-1379
PH 179F

Robert Chapman

Associate Professor

rfchapma@indiana.edu
(812) 856-2452
PH 070-J

  • Altitude training and performance in athletes & sport
  • Hypoxia and effects on oxygen delivery and exercise performance
  • Performance of elite athletes
  • Erythrocyte deformability and microvascular blood flow
  • Cardio-pulmonary mechanisms limiting exercise performance

Cassandra Coble

Clinical Assistant Professor

coblec@indiana.edu
(812) 856-5461
PH 172

Donetta Cothran

Professor and Associate Chair, Kinesiology

dcothran@indiana.edu
(812) 855-6430
PH 179G

  • Pedagogy
  • Students
  • Curriculum
  • School health

Carrie Docherty

Associate Professor and Director, Post Professional Athletic Training Program

cdochert@indiana.edu
(812) 856-6035
PH 121A

  • Ankle instability

Sherilyn Foley

Adjunct Faculty

snfoley@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3061
PH 112

  • Dance
  • Art
  • Choreography
  • Workshops
  • Studios

Georgia C. Frey

Associate Professor

gfrey@indiana.edu
(812) 855-1262
PH 112F

  • Disabilities
  • Physical activity

Katie Grove

Clinical Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies, Kinesiology

kagrove@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3640
PH C202

  • Athletic training
  • Emergency care

Allison Gruber

Assistant Professor

ahgruber@indiana.edu
(812) 856-2447
PH 174

  • Biomechanics
  • Gait mechanics
  • Gait energetics

Guy Haskell

Adjunct Faculty

ghaskell@indiana.edu
(812) 855-7867
703 E. Seventh Street

  • Emergency medical services standards of care
  • Protocol development
  • Evidence based research
  • Liability
  • Regulatory and legal framework

Samuel Haskell

Visiting Lecturer

sihaskel@indiana.edu
(812) 855-5523
PH 058

  • Scientific diver training
  • Marine conservation and education
  • Marine protected areas
  • Shipwreck parks

Mylana Haydu

Diving Safety Officer, Center for Underwater Science

mhaydu@indiana.edu
(812) 856-5860
PH 112J

Ann Huntoon

Lecturer, Physical Education Teacher Education

ahuntoon@indiana.edu
(812) 856-7162
PH 179H

  • Physical education teacher education
  • PE K-12
  • Aquatics

Jeanne D. Johnston

Clinical Associate Professor

jdjohnst@indiana.edu
(812) 855-5073
PH 042

  • Physical activity
  • Games for health
  • Young adults
  • Technology interventions.

Keisuke Kawata

Assistant Professor

kkawata@indiana.edu
(812) 855-5244
PH C215

  • Traumatic brain injury
  • Subconcussion
  • Blood biomarker
  • Ocular-motor system
  • Electroencephalography

Patrick Kelly

Martial Arts Program Coordinator

pkelly@indiana.edu
(812) 855-4143
PH 296

  • Martial arts
  • Aggression and violence in sport
  • Conflict de-escalation and resolution
  • Mind-body wellness
  • Victimization prevention

Carol Kennedy-Armbruster

Senior Lecturer

cakenned@indiana.edu
(812) 855-6083
PH 296G

  • Functional training
  • Water exercise
  • Healthy lifestyles

Robert Kessler

Academic Coordinator

rkessler@indiana.edu
(812) 855-4232
PH 296C

  • Scuba
  • Sailing
  • Waterfront
  • Aquatics
  • Rowing

Jackie J. Kingma

Clinical Associate Professor

jkingma@indiana.edu
(812) 855-1233
PH C213

  • Manual therapy
  • Rehabilitation techniques

Koichi Kitano

Visiting Lecturer

kkitano@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3714
PH 074

  • Human performance
  • Postural stability

David M. Koceja

Professor and Chair, Kinesiology

koceja@indiana.edu
(812) 855-7302
PH 112

  • Neuromuscular control
  • Spinal reflex system
  • Elderly
  • Motor control
  • Balance

David LeBeau

Adjunct Faculty

dlebeau@indiana.edu
(812) 855-4489
PH 296

  • Stress reduction
  • Meditation
  • Mindfulness
  • Mind/Body

Margaret Lion

Senior Lecturer

mlion@indiana.edu
(812) 856-0006
PH 166

  • Technology instruction
  • Computer application
  • Web design
  • Middle Eastern dance

Matthew J. Maus

Adjunct Faculty

mmaus@indiana.edu
(812) 856-2360
PH 058

  • Underwater archaeology
  • Marine protected areas
  • Scientific diving

Thomas McKinney

Adjunct Lecturer

tdmckinn@indiana.edu
(812) 855-5523
PH 112

  • Sports history
  • Basketball

Erin L. McNary

Clinical Assistant Professor, Sport Management

emcnary@indiana.edu
(812) 856-3114
PH 164

Alyssa McPherson

Visiting Lecturer

alymcphe@indiana.edu
(812) 855-5597
PH C202

  • Dance medicine
  • Performing arts medicine
  • Healthcare and injury in drum corps
  • Platelet-rich plasma
  • Athletic trainers as physician extenders

Timothy D. Mickleborough

Professor and Director of Graduate Studies

tmickleb@indiana.edu
(812) 855-0753
PH 036

  • Respiratory disorders in athletes
  • Cardiopulmonary limitations to exercise
  • Respiratory system determinants of fatigue in health and disease
  • Contributions of central and peripheral factors in human muscle fatigue
  • Human stress physiology

Michelle Miller

Coordinator, Fitness Specialist Degree Program

michmill@indiana.edu
(812) 855-8167
PH 296I

  • Fitness assessment
  • Exercise program design
  • Prescription for special populations

Robert Morgan

Adjunct Lecturer

rgmorgan@indiana.edu
(812) 856-4909
PH 112

  • Coaching
  • Baseball

Brian Moscicki

Visiting Lecturer

bmoscick@indiana.edu
(812) 856-7231
PH 170

Paul M. Pedersen

Professor

ppederse@indiana.edu
(812) 855-4066
PH 296B

  • Sport communication
  • Sport organization personnel
  • Intercollegiate and interscholastic sports
  • Sport management

John S. Raglin

Professor

raglinj@indiana.edu
(812) 855-1844
PH 112-I

  • Efficacy of exercise
  • Physical activity and mental health
  • Anxiety and sports performance

Rachel Ryder

Coordinator of Health Fitness Specialist Undergraduate

rabritto@indiana.edu
(812) 856-1990
PH 296D

  • Motor control
  • Neuromuscular control
  • Aging
  • Physical activity

Bradley Sage

Clinical Education Coordinator, Athletic Training

sageb@indiana.edu
(812) 856-2773
PH C204

  • Athletic training education

Gary A. Sailes

Associate Professor

gsailes@indiana.edu
(812) 855-0538
PH 112H

  • Sport sociology
  • Race
  • Professional sport

John Schrader

Assistant Dean for Student Academic Affairs

schrade@indiana.edu
(812) 856-4905
PH 121B

  • Kinesiology
  • Athletic training

John B. Shea

Professor

jbshea@indiana.edu
(812) 856-6045
PH 112K

  • Motor skills
  • Motor control
  • Motor learning
  • Training
  • Ergonomics
  • Human factors
  • Wellness

Brandon Sieg

Adjunct Instructor

bsieg@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3984
PH 296

  • Martial arts
  • Self defense
  • Taekwondo
  • Hapkido
  • Tai chi

Greg Simmons

Adjunct Lecturer

gmsimmon@indiana.edu
(812) 330-1012

  • Strength
  • Conditioning
  • Resistance training
  • Explosive weight training
  • Plyometric training
  • Athletic performance
  • Powerlifting

Braden T Singleton

Lecturer

brsingle@indiana.edu

Smith Research Center, Military Science Annex - 152D

  • Military
  • Performance
  • Tactical
  • Strength

David M. Skirvin

Assistant Dean of Adminstration and Chief of Staff, Dean's Office

dskirvin@indiana.edu
(812) 855-1561
PH 111

  • Budget
  • Finance
  • Fund raising
  • Administration
  • Management

Joel Stager

Professor

stagerj@indiana.edu
(812) 855-1637
PH 032

  • Human stress physiology
  • Oxygen transport
  • Human development and aging
  • Competitive swimming

Shelley Taylor

Adjunct Faculty

shltaylo@indiana.edu
(812) 855-5523
PH 296

  • Yoga
  • Mind/body wellness
  • Stress reduction
  • Relaxation techniques
  • Meditation
  • Mindfulness

Jim Thomas

Adjunct Faculty, PAIP Program

jfthomas@indiana.edu
(812) 856-6707
PH 112

  • Information technology
  • Police unarmed techniques
  • Differently abled students in the martial arts

Jacqueline Watson

Adjunct Faculty

jawatson@indiana.edu

PH 112

  • Martial arts
  • Pilates

Michael S. Willett

Associate Chair, Kinesiology

mwillett@indiana.edu
(812) 855-6210
PH 296 and 1185 W. Second Street

  • Youth fitness
  • Strength training

Antonio S. Williams

Assistant Professor

aw22@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3061
PH 112J

  • Sport marketing
  • Personal fitness
  • Branding