Recreation, Park, and Tourism Studies

Faculty by area:

Faculty MemberContactResearch Areas

Jared Allsop

Lecturer

jallsop@indiana.edu
(812)856-3683
PH 133

  • Therapeutic recreation
  • Social effects
  • Summer camp
  • Chronic illness
  • Disability

Joseph S. Chen

Professor

joechen@indiana.edu
(812) 855-1880
PH 148

  • Social impacts of tourism
  • Hospitality and tourism marketing
  • Sustainability in hospitality and tourism

Hana Cleveland

Project Manager, Eppley Institute for Parks and Public Lands

hclevela@indiana.edu
(812) 855-1436
IU Research Park, Suite 101

Shu Cole

Associate Professor

colest@indiana.edu
(812) 855-9037
PH 133 E

  • Accessible travel & hospitality
  • Travel behavior
  • Service evaluation in travel & hospitality
  • Tourism development

Gina Depper

Assistant Research Scientist / Senior Program Manager, Eppley Institute for Parks and Public Lands

gdepper@iu.edu
(812) 856-2262
501 N. Morton Street, Suite 101

Annie Eakin

Visiting Lecturer

amelick@indiana.edu
(812) 856-1981
PH 133

Layne Elliott

Project Manager- Eppley Institute for Parks and Public Lands / Research Associate- Recreation, Park, and Tourism Studies

laynelli@indiana.edu
(812) 855-0899
IU Research Park, Suite 101

  • Resource Management
  • Recreation Management
  • Public Engagement
  • Public lands
  • Park planning
  • Nature-based tourism
  • Conservation
  • Interpretation

Brian Forist

Lecturer

bforist@indiana.edu
(812 ) 855-0203
PH 133

Nona Henderson

Project Manager and Research Associate, Eppley Institute for Parks and Public Lands

nfcapps@indiana.edu
(812) 855-0864
IU Research Park, Suite 101

  • Park planning
  • Public engagement
  • Interpretation
  • Project management
  • Writing
  • Research

Brandon Howell

Lecturer

bdhowell@indiana.edu
(812 )855-3102
PH 133

  • Biohazard and Infectious Disease Training
  • Management and Guest Experiences

Katherine Ann Jordan

Postdoctoral Fellow / Visiting Assistant Professor

jordanka@indiana.edu

PH 133

Doug Knapp

Associate Professor and Associate Chair for Research and Graduate Studies

dknapp@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3094
PH 133

  • Environmental education
  • Interpretation
  • Global environmental issues

Julie S. Knapp

Clinical Assistant Professor

julknapp@indiana.edu
(812) 856-1068
PH 133J

  • Management
  • Leadership
  • Student learning
  • Internship experiences

Christy McCormick

Senior Program Manager, The Eppley Institute for Parks and Public Lands

chrmccor@indiana.edu
(812) 856-2366
IU Research Park, Suite 101

  • Curriculum development
  • Adult education
  • Distance education
  • Blended learning
  • Instructor training

Blair McKissock

Visiting Lecturer

bmckisso@iu.edu
(812) 855-3088
PH 133H

Alison Moira Miller

Visiting Lecturer

almomill@indiana.edu
(812) 855-8504
PH 133

Michelle E. Monroe-Cook

Project Manager, Eppley Institute for Parks and Public Lands

cook32@indiana.edu
(812) 856-0537
IU Research Park, Suite 101

Rasul A. Mowatt

Associate Professor

ramowatt@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3089
PH 133

  • Leisure behavior
  • Social justice
  • Cultural studies
  • Critical pedagogy

Oghenekaro Omodior

Assistant Professor

oomodior@indiana.edu
(812) 856-7031
PH 112A

Jennifer A. Piatt

Associate Professor

jenpiatt@indiana.edu
(812) 855-7819
PH 145B

  • Social inclusion
  • Specialized camps
  • Adaptive sports
  • Spinal cord injury

William Dominic Ramos

Assistant Professor and Associate Chair of Curriculum

wramos@indiana.edu
(812) 856-7161
PH 133

  • Aquatics
  • Pools
  • Water
  • Physical activity
  • SOPARC
  • Swimming
  • Waterparks

Mick Renneisen

Adjunct Instructor

trenneis@indiana.edu
(812) 349-3711
IU Research Park, Suite 250

  • Recreational sports management
  • Facility management
  • Personnel management

David L. Smiley

Lecturer

dasmiley@indiana.edu
(812) 856-8424
PH 133

  • Student persistence in higher education
  • Technology and student learning outcomes
  • Tourism and public health

Celina Thomas

Visiting Lecturer

clbustam@iu.edu
(812) 855-3482
PH 133G

Kellie Rae Seaton

Research Associate & Program Specialist, National Center on Accessibility

kwaksmun@iu.edu
(812) 856-4428
IU Research Park

Laura Kate Wiltz

Project Manager and Research Associate, Eppley Institute for Parks and Public Lands

lkwiltz@indiana.edu
(812) 856-3881
IU Research Park, Suite 101

  • Master and strategic planning
  • Public/Community engagement
  • Level of service
  • Parks and public lands

Stephen A Wolter

Executive Director, Eppley Institute for Parks and Public Lands

sawolter@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3095
Indiana University Research Park

  • Public parks
  • Recreation
  • Public lands
  • Trail use

Sherril York

Executive Director, National Center on Accessibility

shyork@indiana.edu
(812) 856-4425
IU Research Park, Suite 109

  • Disabilities
  • Assistive technology
  • Accessibility and health promotion

Sarah J. Young

Associate Professor, Interim Chair, Recreation Park and Tourism Studies

sarjyoun@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3085
PH 133F

  • Legal issues in recreation
  • Physical activity motivational readiness
  • Youth sports
  • Community health issues